Personal injury Attorneys
Call Us 24/7 for a FREE Consultation
Home > Knowing bicycle laws can protect your safety and your rights

Knowing bicycle laws can protect your safety and your rights

Residents of Connecticut may want to learn more about the bicycle laws that are a part of being a responsible bike owner in the state. Written to protect you, laws regarding your bicycle begin with registration and provide information on what happens when you break the law. They also work in your favor when someone steals or loses your bicycle.

You must first register your bicycle

According to the City of Meriden, you must register your bicycle with the Meriden police department if you live in this city. It applies to bicycles having at least one wheelbase exceeding 20 inches in diameter. It does not apply to bicycles operated in the city by people passing through who do not live in Meriden.

What is the necessary information?

Your name and address are necessary as well as the make of the bike and serial number from the manufacturer if there is one. You will be issued a certificate of registration that contains your name, address and registration number. The registration fee is $0.50. You’ll also be given a registration plate to attach to the bicycle.

What to do when you sell the bicycle

When selling or transferring the bicycle, the plate will need removing and handing into the police department. Bicycle accidents happen, and the true owner of the bicycle will be correct with the police records.

What are the penalties for offenses?

A minor under 16 years of age will receive a suspension of his or her registration certificate. Those over 16 will be punished with a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment of not more than 30 days. There is also the possibility of both punishments.

If you or a loved one have sustained an injury in a bicycle accident while obeying the law for bicyclists, it may be wise to contact an attorney with experience and knowledge of this type of law. He or she may help you receive the compensation you deserve, so you can move forward with your life.

Contact Our Connecticut Law Firm Now!
When is the best time to call a Connecticut lawyer? Now! No matter how big or small a vehicular accident is, you are going to need to know your rights and protect yourself. Know what the Power of Perkins can do for you when you contact our personal injury attorneys in CT today for schedule a free consultation!