Blog

How to File a Claim Against an Uninsured Driver

How to File a Claim Against an Uninsured Driver

Driving in Connecticut (and any state) is illegal without proper insurance coverage. While this is true, it is

estimated that around 10% of drivers in the state drive on the roads without insurance. This is extremely risky for other drivers.

If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver or a driver with an insurance policy that is not enough to cover all your damages, a CT car accident lawyer from Jonathan Perkins Injury Lawyers can help.

Liability Insurance in Connecticut

Having liability insurance will protect you if you are hit by another driver. It will cover any injuries you sustain and damage to your vehicle or any other property. Having liability coverage is required in Connecticut. The minimum insurance requirements in the state include the following:

  • $25,000 per person
  • $25,000 per collision for property damage
  • $50,000 per collision for bodily injury

Even though these numbers may seem big, they are often not enough if you experience long-term injuries or permanent disabilities, diminished quality of life, or lost income after a car accident. If the person who hits you only has the minimum amount of required coverage, it may not be enough to fully compensate your accident-related costs.

What is even worse is that the driver who hits you may not have liability insurance. While they may face legal penalties for doing this, the punishment they are issued will not solve your situation.

It is best to hire a CT car accident lawyer from Jonathan Perkins Injury Attorneys to better understand your rights and options.

The Option of Underinsured and Uninsured Motorist Insurance

If the insurance coverage (or lack of coverage) another driver has is not enough to cover your losses, then your underinsured or uninsured policy can pick up the slack. The state of Connecticut requires all drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage. The minimums are as follows:

  • Equal to the amount of your bodily injury liability coverage
    • $25,000 per person
    • $50,000 per collision for bodily injury

It is possible to increase the minimums for this policy, and you can add underinsured motorist coverage. Underinsured motorist coverage cannot be reduced by any payments from another source, which includes the other person’s insurance.

Uninsured and Underinsured Claims

If you are hit by an underinsured or uninsured driver, you may want to contact your insurance company immediately. However, even your own insurance company may not have your best interests in mind.

Trying to recover compensation from your uninsured or underinsured coverage may result in some of the following situations:

  • Your insurance company may make the claim that the accident falls beyond the scope of the policy you have
  • Your insurance company may refuse to pay the amount of money you believe you deserve
  • Your insurance company may make the claim that you have not provided the necessary documentation to receive compensation
  • Your insurance company may request you to sign waivers and forms that reduce your rights to receive compensation
  • Your insurance company may attempt to deny your compensation for any long-term disabilities and your lost income after the first payments are made

Many drivers in Connecticut are not aware of their uninsured motorist coverage. Unfortunately, if you are not aware of the coverage you have, it may put the insurance company at an advantage when you try to make a claim.

If possible, you need to know what coverage you have before you are involved in an accident. You may also want to consider increasing your underinsured and uninsured motorist coverage, which will help ensure you are covered if you are involved in an accident.

Understanding How Uninsured Insurance Works in Connecticut

If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver or if you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident, the first step is to turn to your auto insurance provider to receive compensation. This requires you to file a claim with your insurance carrier.

An example of when you would need to do this is if you were in an accident caused by someone who was texting and driving when the collision occurred. In this situation, both you and the passenger in your vehicle may experience injuries. While the distracted driver may stop, they may also let you know they don’t have insurance coverage.

After the incident, you may seek treatment from the doctor. If you have more serious injuries that require treatment, you may have to take a significant amount of time off work. Because of the losses you may sustain, it’s smart to contact our law firm to ensure that you have someone fighting for your right to full compensation for your injuries and damages.

Don’t Wait to Hire a CT Car Accident Lawyer

If you are involved in an accident, it is not unusual to be confused and unsure of what to do. If the accident is with an uninsured or underinsured driver, it can make this difficult situation even worse.

While there are many issues that you may have to deal with, Jonathan Perkins Injury Lawyers, our CT car accident lawyer, want to help you recover the compensation you are entitled to.

It all starts with a free initial consultation with our legal team. We will review the facts of your case and help determine an effective strategy to move forward. While the situation may seem hopeless at first, there are options that you can use to help you recover from the accident.

Read More

Uninsured Motorist Accident Lawyer in CT – Everything You Need to Know About Seeking Compensation

The Emergency Room or an Urgent Care After a Connecticut Car Accident