Connecticut’s roads are deadlier than ever. This means the risk of getting in a Connecticut car accident is only increasing.
But after a car crash, you may just want to focus on recovering from the accident–not getting the police involved at all. But is this a mistake? Here’s what happens if you never file a police report and if you can still seek help from a Connecticut personal injury lawyer.
Does Connecticut Require a Police Report After a Vehicle Crash?
Connecticut requires a police report after a car crash. If you don’t report the Connecticut crash, you could get a fine.
The time limit you have to report the crash depends on the amount of damage. Most crashes are reported within 10 business days, though you may want to file the report within five business days for property damage worth more than $1,000. If you call the police at the accident scene, they will file the report immediately.
What If the Car Accident Is Minor?
You may wonder if the police report requirement will be waived if your accident was only minor, resulting in minimal vehicle damage and no injuries. Even if the car accident was minor, it’s necessary to report all crashes.
The only difference is the time you have to report the accident. If the vehicle damage resulted in significant damage, you must report the accident sooner than if the crash resulted in minor damage.
How a Police Report Can Benefit Your Case
Reporting your car accident to the police may seem arduous, especially if your accident was only minor. However, there are a couple of benefits that a police report may bring to your case. A police report will make it easier to negotiate with insurance and can be admissible in court.
Negotiating With Insurance
When you file a claim with car insurance, they must investigate your case to prove fault and come up with a settlement.
If you weren’t at fault, the police report will work in your favor. The police report highlights all information about the accident, who was at fault, and any injuries and damage that resulted from the accident. The police report will also include other essential information that we will discuss later.
Admissible in Court
If you have to go to trial, a police report will also be admissible in court. That’s because a police report is a hearsay exception. Keep in mind that not everything in the report will be used as evidence. If you’re unsure about your circumstance, you can contact a Connecticut car accident lawyer to evaluate your case.
Can You File a Car Insurance Claim Without a Police Report?
No, you must have a police report to file a car insurance claim. But once you go through the claims process, you’ll be glad you had the police report. The claims process is quicker and easier with the police report. All you have to do is provide the name of the police department and the report number.
What Information Is Included in a Police Report?
The reason why a car insurance claim is expedited with a police report is the report contains all information needed for your case.
First, the report will contain all information of the parties involved, such as:
- Phone numbers
- Date of birth
- Insurance information
- Drivers license numbers and classes
The police report will also include any accident details, such as:
- Officers on the scene and their descriptions
- Date, time, and location of the accident
- Injuries suffered
- Medical reports
- Vehicle damage description
- Statements from parties involved
- Witness statements
- Information on weather and road conditions
- Tickets issued or road violations committed
- Cause or fault
You can get a copy of your police report on the Reports and Records section of the Connecticut State website. You should present this police report to your car accident lawyer during your consultation.
Why a Connecticut Personal Injury Attorney Can Help
If you were injured in a Connecticut car accident or suffered vehicle damage, a car accident lawyer in CT will benefit your case.
The best attorney is knowledgeable in state car accident laws and experienced in negotiating with insurance companies. They will handle all communications with insurance companies to ensure you get a fair settlement. If the insurance company doesn’t agree on a fair settlement, your lawyer will represent you in court, where your police report can be used as evidence.
Contact a Connecticut Car Accident Attorney
If you need a Connecticut car accident lawyer, you should look no further than us. We understand how a car crash can impact your life, and we will walk you through the next steps to ensure you know your legal rights.
We will always fight to get the compensation you deserve by holding the at-fault driver and their insurance company liable for your injuries and vehicle damage. During your free evaluation, we will request a copy of your police report and use it as proof during negotiations.
To schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys, visit our contact page and fill out our form.