A car accident can happen to anyone at any time. If you have been in a car accident, taking the correct steps will ensure that you get the medical treatment you and your passengers need while protecting your legal interests. This guide looks at the first things you should do after being in a car accident in Connecticut.
Check for Injuries and Call 911
After an accident, you, your passengers, or the passengers in the other vehicle may need emergency medical care. Check yourself and your passengers for injuries. If a passenger is bleeding or unresponsive, contact 911 immediately.
If there are no apparent injuries, you need to schedule a doctor’s visit within 72 hours to treat late-onset injuries. Early medical treatments will also make it easier to file an insurance claim.
Call the Police
Under Connecticut state law, you must remain at the accident scene until the police arrive. The police will gather the parties’ information, run a license check, and check all drivers’ registration and insurance. Police officers will also create an accident report that you will need when filing an insurance claim.
Gather the other driver’s information, including their name, contact details, insurance company, policy number, and driver’s license number. You should also make a note of the other vehicles’ make, model, and color.
Gather Witness Information
If there are bystanders who saw the accident happen, ask them for their names and contact details. Car accident witnesses can be other motorists, pedestrians, or passengers.
Stay Calm and Don’t Admit Fault
When gathering information and exchanging details, don’t admit fault. You may think that you caused the accident, even though the other driver broke a traffic rule. If the other driver admits fault, note what they say or try to get the admission on record.
Don’t get into an argument with the driver. Discuss the details of the accident with the police and your personal injury attorneys only.
Photographs of injuries, the accident scene, and property damage can significantly impact the outcome of car accident cases. Use your phone to take photos of everything that may be important in a car accident lawsuit, including the other driver’s car.
File an Accident Report
It is important that you ask the police to respond to the scene so that an accident report will be prepared and filed. This is especially important if there are personal injuries or property damage which might exceed $1,000 to repair. Sometimes, the police may not want to file a complete accident report if your accident occurred in a private lot, but they should still respond to the scene and prepare and file what they call an “incident report:”.
Contact Your Insurance Company
Under your insurance policy, you may need to notify your insurance company of the accident. Failing to contact your insurance company immediately may affect the outcome of your claim.
Consult with a Car Accident Lawyer
Protecting your legal rights is critical to ensuring your chances of recovering maximum compensation for your damages. At Jonathan Perkins Injury Lawyers, we are amongst the most experienced auto accident attorneys in the State and we have someone available to assist you or to answer any questions you may have 24 hours a day.
To schedule a free consultation at our offices, give us a call at 800-PERKINS.